top of page

Aubrey

Dear Leadership,

I have considered myself a leader both in my community and family throughout my college career but simply because of superficial measures such as hours involved and titles. To stand out among the thousands of undergraduates, my leadership had become about the benefit for me rather than the actions themselves and those I interacted with. It’s hard to admit, but when asked about leadership I find myself jumping to those titles and recognizable organizations that seem to carry more weight than the meaning behind it or job itself. This hit me more during our recent meeting with Ian Chang, VP of Operations for China Boeing. When discussing leadership, he continually asked the question, “What can I do for you?” A question so simple, yet so powerful and embodying of a true leader. Just as a great teacher does not simply lecture or talk at you, a great leader does not simply give you orders and directions but rather engages with you in a mutually beneficial learning experience.

Sincerely,

Aubrey


RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page